fbpx Skip to Content

Are Ritz Crackers Dairy-Free?

Thirteen years with severe milk allergy, and original Ritz crackers have been a staple in our family all this time.

I don’t think my kiddos will ever tire of them. Here are some fun ideas kids love!

Be sure to always check labels as ingredients can change.

dairy free ritz crackers

PLEASE NOTE: Here at Milk Allergy Mom, we simply share products that work for our family. Please consult your own doctor before trying food, supplements, or other products. Also read all labels and call companies for the latest, most accurate product information.

It’s so funny,

because I’m pretty sure Ritz were probably one of our first dairy-free food finds here at Milk Allergy Mom…

and I’m certain it was one of our first blog posts over a decade ago. 

But somewhere along the way I was horrified by the dark, sad picture I took when my now teens were babies. 

And I hid the post for years here. 

However, my kids’ newfound love for these Ritz original fresh stacks reminded me to share this fun food find again!

Better pictures this time. 

So often on our Facebook page we are asked if Ritz crackers are indeed dairy-free and milk allergy friendly. 

Well, we’ve eaten them for years and years and years. 

Just be sure to double check labels for yourself, ingredients can change. 

Our ingredients are shown below. 

dairy free crackers

Now back to these fresh stacks…

my teens love to take these in school lunch with lunch meat and dairy-free cheese to build their own cracker sandwiches. 

Ya know, like lunchables. But dairy-free. 

If we are feeling especially lazy, 

my kids will just spread peanut butter on them. 

If you are allergic, try your own safe seed or nut butter. 

I consider that a protein…and easy lunch is served. 

If you have a little more time, 

check out how we use Ritz crackers for snack boards like this.

dairy free snack board

We also use Ritz crackers to make dairy-free thin mint girls scout cookies!

Say what?! I sure hope you click that link and check those cookies out.


So there you have it. 

Yes, this milk allergy family has eaten Ritz ORIGINAL crackers for ages. 

Make sure you grab the right variety because they do make cheese and peanut butter versions.

We only get original or wheat. 

But from toddlers to teens, it’s been a great snack for us. 

And we hope you get to try them, too!

Ingredients on our package below.


We have even ordered Ritz fresh stack crackers on Amazon for convenience. 

You can get a single Ritz box on Amazon Pantry. (affiliate)

Or you can buy Ritz in bulk (affiliate) for things like your emergency kit or to share with friends. 

Here are two Ritz boxes on Amazon Prime (affiliate), we love the fresh stacks so they last longer.


  • make your own dairy-free lunchables
  • enjoy peanut butter (or substitute) crackers
  • create a fun snack board
  • make no-bake girl scout cookies
  • stock up your emergency kit

dairy free ritz crackers



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Franca G.

Sunday 22nd of August 2021

Just found your blog while looking up information on milk allergies. We just had an anaphylactic reaction to Ritz original crackers. Milk/diary is not listed on ingredients but just learned about the kosher designation and the D means that there is a possibility of dairy contamination. So upset about this. Your blog had nothing to do with our decision to try Ritz original but I certainly blame the manufacturer for their deceitful labeling.

Jamie Kaufmann

Tuesday 24th of August 2021

I'm so sorry to hear this, Franca. Thank you for letting us know.


Wednesday 4th of March 2020

Hi, I’m enjoying your recent emails with some great finds, however, are you aware that original Ritz crackers are made on equipment or in a plant that may have dairy and the product may contain dairy. That little Ud on the front of box lower right is a symbol I always look for first as the D means dairy. Some people may not be as sensitive as mine and this may not be a concern. I first look for these kosher labels as early on we had some waffles that my daughter ate without a problem then one day had a reaction. I called the manufacturer and they said if it had the D on the box, which these did, they could not guarantee no dairy. Just an FYI for your readers. Keep up the good work your doing, I wish I had you as a resource when mine where young now 23 and 25.

Jamie Kaufmann

Wednesday 4th of March 2020

Thank you, Deb. Oreo is the same, too. If someone's history and allergist recommends they avoid those, they definitely will want to. Agree. Great job raising your kiddos with food allergies! I hope they are happy, healthy young adults now. You're an inspiration.

Diane Bostleman Lehman

Wednesday 4th of March 2020

Loving your blog! My son is 13 years old and he has anaphylaxis to dairy, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts and sesame. Ritz crackers have been a staple at our house for many years as well! Where are you finding pepperoni and salami that are dairy free? My son would love these, but all of the ones I have found contain Lactic Acid Starter Culture. Would love to find some without this ingredient! Thanks!

Jamie Kaufmann

Wednesday 4th of March 2020

Hi Diane! We are milk and nut allergy right now. Hormel salami and Applegate pepperoni would be a couple to look into for your kiddo! Hope they might work. :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sharing is Caring

Help spread the word. You're awesome for doing it!